Full List: Massive Jubilation In Aso Rock, As Your Nigerian Passport Gains Visa-Free Access To 47 Countries - ROUND GIST

Home of unlimited news and trending informations

Home Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Search This Blog

Wednesday, 16 January 2019

Full List: Massive Jubilation In Aso Rock, As Your Nigerian Passport Gains Visa-Free Access To 47 Countries

The President Muhammadu Buhari-led Federal Government has continue to work tirelessly to remove all inderances to air travel for its citizens travelling abroad and visitors visiting the country.

To this end, the Nigerian passport has been ranked one of the most powerful passport in Africa with citizens enjoying visa-free/visa-on-arrival access to more countries. According to the Henley Passport Index which depends on data provided by the International Air Transport Authority (IATA), Nigeria recently gained visa-free access (net-free access) to three new countries, bring its visa-free access to 47 countries.

Speaking on the methodology of the ranking, Henley said: “For each travel destination, if no visa is required for passport holders from a country or territory, then a score with value = 1 is created for that passport.

“A score with value = 1 is also applied if passport holders can obtain a visa on arrival, a visitor’s permit, or an electronic travel authority (ETA) when entering the destination. These visa-types require no pre-departure government approval, because of the specific visa-waiver programs in place.

“Where a visa is required, or where a passport holder has to obtain a government-approved electronic visa (e-Visa) before departure, a score with value = 0 is assigned. A score with value = 0 is also assigned if passport holders need pre-departure government approval for a visa on arrival, a scenario we do not consider ‘visa-free’.”

With your Nigerian passport, you can now visit these 47 countries without a visa:

Cambodia *

Maldives *

Timor-Leste *

Benin *

Burkina Faso


Cape Verde Islands


Comores Islands *

Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)

Djibouti *





Kenya *


Madagascar *


Mauritania *

Mauritius *

Mozambique *


Rwanda *


Seychelles *

Sierra Leone

Somalia *

Tanzania *


Uganda *

Cook Islands




Palau Islands

* Samoa *

Tuvalu *






St. Kitts and Nevis


Iran *

Lebanon *

(Countries with asterisk require visa on arrival).

The good news came as President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday registered for and launched a new enhanced Electronic International Passport for all Nigerians.

The registration and launch, which was carried out at the State House in Abuja, had in attendance Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Minister of the Interior, Lt-Gen Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau (Rtd), Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS), Mohammed Babandede amongst other.

A specimen copy of the new enhanced electronic international passport was handed to the president by Abdulrahman Dambazzau (Rtd) under the watchful eyes of the Comptroller General of Nigerian Immigration Service and other members of the Federal Executive Council.

Please leave your comment below and don’t forget to share.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad